snails for sale

April 2nd 

I finally got a picture of the giant snails. You can’t see the scale, but they’re about 8 inches long. My hosts asked me if ate snails, but I’m having to rethink. The small ones aren’t giant snails, accra high streetsuch a challenge to a vegetarian, but these definitely have personalities.

 I’m impressed by the variety of wildlife here – the only thing I haven’t seen on the city streets so far is horses, but apparently some of the bigger hotels have them.

Today was a better day work-wise. I’ve been trying to find returned economic migrants, and they’re harder to find than the educational migrants. There’s a lot of pressure on migrants to show they’ve succeeded, so the ones who’ve been deported or otherwise had negative experiences aren’t keen to talk about it. Also, the educational migrants tend not to know the economic ones, so I have to find a whole new group from scratch. I’m getting some leads, from a business council, from a refugee activist and from various people in ordinary jobs (waiters, cabdrivers), and slowly they’re starting to come back with contacts for me. You can’t do anything without a reference, since people are protective of their immigration history, particularly when they’ve been overstayers or otherwise had irregular status. It’s a steep learning curve about where people are in Accra – apparently one place I can find them is in the used car markets on the outskirts, but I only plan to do that if I can’t get to them through contacts. I don’t fancy wandering around used car markets offering people compensation for interviews!

One comment

  1. […] linnettaylor wrote this today. I think it is worth reading. Here is a little snippet:It’sa steep learning curve about where people are in Accra – apparently one place I can find them is in the used car markets on the outskirts, but I only plan to do that if I can’t get to them through contacts. … […]

Leave a Reply

